*Adele voice* Hello, it’s me.

My name is Alyssa and I am a woman up in the air.

My name is Alyssa and I am a woman up in the air.

I love to write, though, the speaker of my pieces is a woman up in the air that lands on the blue side of my spectrum. I’m making this blog because I want my pieces to be understood and accepted even when I have trouble sharing them in public. I adore writing and editing among stuffing my face with almond butter and I’d hate to go another moment feeling suffocated by my lack of confidence in myself in front of my peers.

Edit as of September 2016: I don’t lack confidence anymore. While I’ve come to love presenting my work to others, partly because I’m proud of what I’ve written, I crave criticism in order to progress.

I’d like to pop the champagne bottle for this website by presenting the first poem that made me realize my love for writing, editing, and literacy:

Erasers

What is your purpose?

To undo what has been done

Who gave you the right?

To efface what’s written on stone

Or paper, or skin,

Or whatever canvas the lead can’t resist

 

Your vibrant exterior

Is seen as enticing,

Not frightening

But your ability to feel no pain when you shave yourself down

And your lack of empathy when you seize a mistake

Prove that you are a force to be reckoned with.

Enjoy my work. Best regards. Alyssa.

With love, Alyssa

One thought on “*Adele voice* Hello, it’s me.

Leave a Reply

