Winter Break

Me, wearing a spaghetti strap velvet dress and lying on a modern Victorian fainting couch with my hand dramatically on my forehead, a glass of wine in my free hand: “I survived my first semester of college.”

GUESS WHAT GIRL HAS TWO THUMBS, FINISHED HER FIRST SEMESTER OF COLLEGE, AND IS ABOUT TO MARATHON PARKS AND RECREATION FOR THE NEXT WEEK STRAIGHT???

*Adele voice* Hello, it’s me.

I also returned home today and in the spirit of the excursion home, here is a poem I wrote in the car ride home about pilgrimages and feelings of home:

Pellegrinaggio

 

One year from today

I made a grave discovery:

 

In the country known

Predominately for old-fashioned grandmothers, who

Wield wooden spoons that drip

With the blood of a tomato,

I saw windows when

Everyone else saw walls.

 

Never in my seventeen years of living

Did I imagine hearing a thick Italian

Accent speak my last name

With gusto

Would teach me more about

My heritage than any dusty

Book on the shelf would.

 

There were cobblestone streets littered

With Tourists who

Talked through the lens of

A Camera, and

Locals who had the same

Nose and dark, thick hair

As me.

There were ruins left and right that

Had no roofs but did seem

More homey than the aroma of Nana’s famous

Mini meatballs.

 

One year from one day

I wished my flight to New York

Would’ve been delayed.

In other news I wish I was back in Florence where the weather was constantly nice, unlike bitter New York right now where it’s 60 degrees in December. No matter the weather, I hope y’all have a good winter break where ever you are ! 🙂

With love, Alyssa

Leave a Reply

