Erasers

Your vibrant exterior

often vandalized and

bruised pink

Erasers.

 

Your vibrant exterior

often vandalized and

bruised pink

is seen as enticing

Your ability to feel no pain

when you shave yourself,

and your lack of empathy when you

seize a mistake prove

you are a force to be reckoned with

 

I called upon you to help

me rectify my error

expunge my black spots

and save me from

my dark blue;

I knead you like

I need you

 

You’re symbolism

for trust:

diminishing in size

with every

mistake until

pencils rest, like fallen timber,

at the bottom of my

bag with their

erasers chewed or sheared off–

so I can’t take it back

This poem means a lot to me. I wrote an earlier version in 2014, and revised it for my poetry class on the two year anniversary. My first draft can be found here. It’s the poem that made me realize my love for writing, and now I’m on a pathway where I can do what I love. I’m in a good place.

With love, Alyssa

 

Leave a Reply

