Writing While Sick: Bare With Me ‘Cause I’m Quite Quick

and 5, 6, 7, 8

I’m sick and a little loopy so I’m writing this to update the few of you who read my shit on my life. More on my sickness– I’m dizzy, waiting on a bagel that may never show up to my doorstep, but at least I’m not so high I’m sitting on my bed trying to buckle my seatbelt… yet.

(Update: the bagel is coming to the backdoor soon)

This semester I’m taking a publishing course, taught by a woman I admire so much I want to go car shopping with her. We’ve only had three weeks of classes, meeting twice a week, and because of all the information she gives us about the publishing industry, I’ve honed more in on my career path. Going into the class I was between book publishing and magazine publishing, but I’ve decided on the former.

She tends to talk about her life experiences as an author and editor for a literary magazine often, and yesterday she said some very intriguing things about being an author and working with a literary agent.

25 years ago she wrote a popular book and had it published under an imprint of Hachette. It was so well-received that many publishers wanted her to write more in a series, and she did. In 2008 she was asked to write another, and with her literary agent, my professor took note to all their deals. Behind the scene, the publishers on the phone with her agent ran down to their marketing departments and were discussing numbers for an advance.

She was offered 250,000 dollars.

She took it.

She wrote the book and it was all finished in 2008. Then the market crashed. The book didn’t sell. The imprint lost 250,000 dollars. (Luckily, she got to keep it.)

If she wants to publish another book, she has to change her name.

Isn’t that crazy?


On another note, I’ve attempted to write more short stories, as it has now become a personal writing preference of mine. I even have a journal where I write down one story idea per day with bullet points of details. But, after writing “It Started With the Magnifying Glass” I’ve been feeling so uninspired. I doubt I peaked– I’m just stuck.

I have several good ideas that I’d like to run with, but little to no motivation to write. I hope I can take advantage of my current sickness and write while bed-ridden, but we’ll see.

This morning my Dad sent me an email with a link to a business journal he was recently published in. Meanwhile, I ask myself: ‘Is “Banana Peels Are Drug Sites” a proper title for my short story?’

I’m not one to care much about business journals and business as a field, as I like the editorial side of things much more, but maybe, just maybe, I can pull the nepotism card?

That’s a bad idea, Alyssa.

But is it?

…Yes

But is it really?


Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read. Remember, write the story you want to read.

With love, Alyssa

 

Leave a Reply

